Phone: (217) 523-4747

Race to improve community health
Community Health Needs Assessment FY2015


Provisions in the Affordable Care Act (ACA) require charitable hospitals to conduct a Community Health Needs Assessment (CHNA) and adopt an Implementation Plan to meet the needs identified through the CHNA. The CHNA is a systematic process involving the community to identify and analyze community health needs as well as community assets and resources in order to plan and act upon priority community health needs. This assessment process results in a CHNA Report which is used to plan, implement, and evaluate Community Benefit activities. Once the CHNA Report is completed, a set of implementation strategies is developed based on the evidence and assets and resources identified in the CHNA process.

Every three years, the affiliated hospitals of Hospital Sisters Health System are required to conduct a CHNA and to adopt an Implementation Plan by an authorized body of the hospital in the same taxable year, and make the report widely available to the public. The hospitals’ previous CHNA Reports and Implementation Plans were conducted and adopted in FY2012.

To comply with these requirements, HSHS affiliated hospitals led a collaborative approach in conducting their CHNAs and adopting an Implementation Plan in FY2015 in partnership with representatives from the community including other area hospitals, community organizations, area schools, local law enforcement, departments of public health and the Illinois Critical Access Hospital Network to name a few.

Upon completion of the CHNA, each hospital developed a set of implementation strategies and adopted an Implementation Plan to address priority community health needs surfaced in the CHNA process. Data collected throughout the assessment process was supplemented with, but not limited to community asset reviews, quantitative data, qualitative data gathered through CHNA Steering Committees with broad community representation, focus groups, local leader input, town hall meetings, and engagement sessions.

Identification and Prioritization of Needs

In FY2015, seven priority areas were identified by the 14 affiliated hospitals including: Mental Health; Chronic Conditions/Diseases Prevention and Management; Alcohol, Tobacco and Other Drug Abuse (ATODA); Nutrition/Wellness; Access to Care; Oral Health; and Domestic Abuse. To review each hospital’s FY2015 Community Health Needs Assessment (CHNA) and Implementation Plan in its entirety, please click on the links to the right. Please note that a paper copy is also available for public inspection without charge at each hospital.

FY2015 CHNAs


Central Illinois Division

St. Francis Hospital
Litchfield, Illinois

St. John's Hospital
Springfield, Illinois

St. Mary’s Hospital
Decatur, Illinois

Southern Illinois Division

St. Anthony’s Memorial Hospital Effingham, Illinois

St. Elizabeth’s Hospital
Belleville, Illinois

St. Joseph’s Hospital
Breese, Illinois

St. Joseph’s Hospital
Highland, Illinois

Eastern Wisconsin Division

St. Clare Memorial Hospital Oconto Falls, Wisconsin

St. Mary’s Hospital Medical Center Green Bay, Wisconsin

St. Nicholas Hospital
Sheboygan, Wisconsin

St. Vincent Hospital
Green Bay, Wisconsin

Western Wisconsin Division

Sacred Heart Hospital
Eau Claire, Wisconsin

St. Joseph's Hospital
Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin

Notice of Nondiscrimination: English
Language Assistance: Español | Hmoob | Deutsch Français | 
 | Deitsch | Polski | العربية | Русский | Italiano | Tagalog | हिंदी  | ພາສາລາວ | 한국어 | Tiếng Việt | اُردُو